What is Media Convergence?

Media Convergence is a term that we use today to describe digital technology. The Internet, radio, television and print all intersect to make up media convergence. We no longer watch the news the traditional way sitting in front of the television or picking up the newspaper off the lawn. There are many different hand held devices that we use daily to keep up with what’s current.Media convergence has affected our lives daily whether it’s receiving the news or making purchases.

We live in a society where people are constantly on the go therefore digital technology is crucial. Media convergence makes it convenient to function when going to work or catching an early flight.Although it benefits people who do not have problem with adjusting to the changes, but there are others who do not like change. There are individuals who do not have Internet access. I believe that without adapting to the convergence it limits your knowledge to what is going on around the world. For example my grandmother does not use the internet or smart phone,therefore she relies on channel 12 WSFA morning and evening news to keep her aware of the news. While my grandmother is waiting for the news report, I already have the latest news from my cell phone with mobile alerts from news websites, Facebook and twitter. This example displays how quickly media convergence can deliver important facts without the delays. In some cases when there is breaking news we do not have to wait for the news reporter to arrive on the scene. Today with technology there is a witness of the crime or activity with a smart phone or other handheld device to take pictures or make videos that can be sent to the local news stations or social media groups.

The convergence doesn’t stop at only affecting how we receive the news, but how about how we make daily purchases and pay bills? With digital technology we are able to handle our banking needs from home or via handheld device. The digital world has gone as far as making a deposit by simply taking a picture of a check that will electronically credit your bank account! Talk about convergence, this is amazing! You can transfer funds and even pay your monthly bills on your handheld device or PC.

Not only does digital technology affect people individually, it affects different small businesses as well. Business owners have to be equipped to receive payments from customers. They have to have the technology needed to process debit and credit card payments because these days no one carries cash or write checks. There are some businesses who have not made the necessary adjustments to the new changes. Those businesses I believe limit themselves to producing profit. For example I went to small place in town to grab lunch, the food looked and smelled great but when I went to pay they did not accept debit or credit cards. I did not have any cash so I had to leave the food behind. There were two other people waiting to order behind me once they heard no debt cards they left as well. So you see that digital technology is changing our lives in every area, receiving the news, making, daily purchases and even or businesses. We must be prepared to make adjustments to live our lives comfortably.

One thought on “What is Media Convergence?

  1. Kindra, after reading your description of media convergence, I have a better understanding of the topic and how it is applied to society. I wonder sometimes, how would we as a society, function, without the use of our devices and their applications, such as Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Vine and so on and so fourth. Recently, I tried to go an entire day without using any of my “smart” devices and i felt as if I was going through withdrawal. I did not like it. I felt as if I was missing something. I felt as if the world was moving on without me. It got to the point where I was trying to do things to keep myself busy so I would not try to to use my devices.

    Well the experiment did not work, and eventually I was forced to use my ipod, to check instagram, my phone, to check my missed calls, text messages, and Facebook.

    I had came to the realization that I too am one of those people whose smart device has literally become a part of me, to the point where I felt lost without it. However, one good thing that I concluded from this experiment was the fact that smart devices have the ability to keep me connected to people, places and things unlike anything else in the world. Within moments, Facebook allowed for me to know exactly what my friends were doing and at what time they were doing. Instagram allowed me to see what type of pictures my instagram followers were posting, along with other people other world. For example, I am a fan of the television show, Breaking Bad. I did a hashtag search for that keyword on instagram and I was able to see cool and interesting post, from other instagram users worldwide who are also fans of the show.

    Needles to say, like most things, media convergence has its fair share of pros and cons.

Leave a Reply

